Two thirds of business units in North Algeria

More than 617,550 business units are based in the northern regions of the country.

This is  the equivalent of two thirds of the total number estimated at 934,250 unites, according to the economic census conducted by the National Office of Statistics.

With 309,830 business units, the central-northern region, composed of ten provinces is the most populated with 33.2%, i.e. a 1/3 of the total figure, indicate the final figures of the first economic census, a ground for statistics surveys.

In general, the census results indicate strong concentration of business units in 21 provinces, representing 70% of the entire units. Indeed, 13 provinces include nearly 60% of business units, namely Algiers, Oran, Setif, Tizi Ouzou, Bejaia, Batna, Tlemcen, Blida, Chlef, Constantine, M’Sila, Bordj Bou Arreridj and Skikda.

With only 8 provinces, which are Mila, Djelfa, Mascara, Boumerdès, Annaba, Biskra, Oum El Bouaghi and Ain Defla, this rate will climb up to nearly 70%.

In this region, two big activities are dominant; trade which represents 53.3% and services with 35%, the Office said.

The tertiary activity (administration, education, organized bodies and hospitals) in the Northern region counts 273,357 units.

Algiers counts 97,019 business units which 56.3% activate in trade, followed by the provinces of Tizi Ouzou with 37,276 units and Bejaia with 31,197 units.

The north-western region with its seven provinces comprise 166,632 units, more than 89% of them are in the service sector and 9.9% in industry.

Oran leads with 52,852 units followed by Tlemcen (30,086) and Mascara (20,975 units). Approximately 141,090 units were identified in the north-eastern region with 8 provinces. Over 88% of the units of the region of the country operate in the tertiary sector. In this region, three provinces dominate, namely Constantine that counts 25,729 units, followed by Skikda (21,701) and Mila with 21,334 units.

The High Plateaus region with 14 provinces accounts 236,515 business units. The sector-based structure of activity in this region is almost identical to the other ones with 98.6% of the activity concentrated in the tertiary sector.

Three provinces have 43% of the economic fabric of the region led by Setif which has the largest number of units (47,392 units), followed by Batna (30,388) and M’sila (23,266) and finally El Bayadh with only 4,819 business units.

Finally, 80,083 units were identified in the southern region, composed of nine provinces. Biskra is topping the list with 19,469 units, followed by Ouargla (14,396), El Oued 13,617 units. These three provinces include 59.2% of all business units of the region and finally Illizi with 1,432 units.

The second phase of the economic census, which is a structural survey will be launched in the second half of 2012 and will consist of recovering the balance sheet, setting questionnaires tailored to each activity.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: